Crazy Rich Asians

CRA

I read this book because I wanted to know about the book before I watched the movie. I am very big on reading books before the movie. I know that usually this is how you end up disappointed but I really prefer it this way.

At first, it was annoying to have to read footnotes in the middle of the story because it took me a moment to catch my momentum in it. Eventually, I caught on and it wasn’t so bad. This book was really good! I loved what happened in the book. There were moments when I laughed out loud. Mostly the best friend of Rachel kept me laughing.

Now this book does jump from different character to character to tell the story but I don’t mind this. If you do you might not care too much about this book. Rachel is a down to earth character who gets thrown into a world of Crazy Rich Asians and is blindsided by all of this because her boyfriend doesn’t prepare her. Normally this would be something that would make you hate him but he is really blind to the fact they are that rich due to him being raised not to discuss fortunes.

The best friend makes the story for me because she is hilarious and I hope they do her justice in the movie! I can honestly say she is my favorite character and I don’t think anyone can change my mind on that. She is eccentric in all the best ways. I HIGHLY recommend this book! I cannot believe it was published in 2013 and is just now getting major recognition!

I cannot wait to read the next book. Five out of five stars!

Leave a comment